supercheesegirl: (books - reading addict)
I started my new year off right with a binge read of the third Stieg Larsson book. I'd been waiting, saving it, reluctant to start reading it because I knew it would be so good. And it was. I loved it. (But not to worry, F kept an eye on me and made sure I took breaks to eat and pee.)

Date: 2011-01-03 01:26 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] pocketwitch.livejournal.com
I wish I could say I liked this one as much as the first two. I thought the third one was way too long in parts, with long sections with little or no Lisbeth and lots of stuff I couldn't bring myself to care about. :P

Date: 2011-01-03 03:10 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
See, I thought the first book was too long, with that whole beginning section on economics or whatever. In this one I was at least interested in what was going on with the side characters.

Date: 2011-01-03 12:48 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] pocketwitch.livejournal.com
I agree that the first section of the first book was slow, but once I got past that, the rest really drew me in. I expected the third one to be nonstop excitement, and I found myself tuning out a lot.

I hate that Steig is no longer with us. I feel like he had a ton of potential; his writing is flawed in a lot of ways but they're flaws he could've grown past. I would've loved to see his writing grow.

Profile

supercheesegirl: (Default)
supercheesegirl

September 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:55 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios