supercheesegirl: (lost - jack)
On TV this week:

New Amsterdam: I watched both episodes. WTF with them showing an episode on Tuesday, another on Thursday, and then moving it to its "permanent" slot for next Monday? Seems like a gigantic ploy to get the American Idol viewership interested before pitting it against Heroes (when it comes back). Which pisses me off, because nothing decent should be pitted against Heroes because Heroes will win. And this show is pretty decent. One thing I like is how absolutely straight up our main character is about his immortality. Another kind of guy would always be lying to try to hide it. I also like how he hasn't wasted his time sitting around brooding like some other immortal detective we all know and love. John has lots of talents and hobbies, he's had lots of different occupations, he's known all different kinds of people. I think he's interesting and I'll keep watching.

American Idol: Goodbye, Danny Noriega!! Don't let your purple scarf get caught in the door and strangle you on your way out. He was so freakin' shocked to go home. He honestly didn't pay any attention to what Simon had to say, and Simon was absolutely right about him. Mom had theorized that the gay viewers were all voting for him and that he'd be in the competition a while longer, but I guess not. I was also glad to see Luke Cheekbones go--way too Broadway, as my mom's best friend Debbie put it--and glad to see Bland Blonde #2 disappear. Only one more Bland Blonde to go! The remaining Bland Blonde, Kristy Lee Cook, is of course my least favorite, the wench who sold her beloved horse to try out for the show. I agree with Simon that she's forgettable, and her eyes are too small, and I really dislike her. Next week, Kristy Lee Bland Blonde, next week. A little surprised that Asia'h went home so early--I had thought she'd be around a while longer--but oh well. My favorites are all still in: David Cook, Li'l Davey Archuleta, Male Stripper Hernandez, and Brooke White. I still like Rockin' Amanda but she needs to make eye contact with the camera. Girl needs to learn to work that. I still have high hopes for her, though, and I'm glad she made the top 12.

LOST: Best line of the week: "It's stressful being an Other, Jack." Juliet won so many points with that. I think once this show is over I want to go back and watch the whole thing over again to see how it all fits together. Ben is such a total creepo! God, somebody please, please kill him. Also, is poor Miles still in the shed with a grenade in his mouth? That's a long time he's been holding that with his teeth. I'm surprised Juliet didn't think to join the War On Ben sooner--that she could still trust him, at all, after what he did to Goodwin. Goodwin seemed like a nice guy, but I freely admit that I can barely remember his interactions with the tailies. Also, this episode reminded me that we still don't know why the Others took the children.

So, what have we learned now? Penny's dad wants the island. He's sent the freighter folk to wage war on Ben to get it. Penny's dad's a jerk, but we knew that. Penny wants to find the island too, but only so she can save Desmond. Ben was going to tell Locke who his inside man on the freighter was, but we didn't get to hear that, did we? Next thing we saw was Hurley and Sawyer playing horseshoes and looking surprised to see Ben out and about. So we can assume Ben told Locke, but we didn't get to hear it. Why are we all still watching this stupid show, again? Oh that's right, because there are lots of attractive men who often take their shirts off. Good call. Speaking of which, I have no problems with the addition of Daniel Farraday to the cast.

Date: 2008-03-08 08:19 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] minkrose
minkrose: (silhouette mink)
Andy was just asking me if we should check out New Amsterdam (though I can't get the TMBG song out of my head!) and said it was film noir-esque. Glad to see a positive review of it because I hadn't heard anything yet! We'll have to start watching!

Date: 2008-03-08 08:42 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
I don't know if I'd describe it as noir-esque. But it's definitely fun. And it's not at all like that show about That Other Immortal Detective, which was awesome in its own way--but New Amsterdam is doing its own thing, which makes me like it a lot so far.
Edited Date: 2008-03-08 08:43 pm (UTC)

Date: 2008-03-08 08:57 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] minkrose
minkrose: (Default)
Yeah, I have no idea where he got the film noir description from... but I'm always happy to find new things to get interested in, regardless.

Date: 2008-03-08 11:02 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] swissmissus.livejournal.com
two thangs:

1. u and f showed up in the tail end (the tail section????) of my dream last nite... you all were just there hanging out in a cafe i wound up in....

2. juliet gets on my nerfs. really. im convinced shes still working for ben-- and im pretty sure its gonna turn out to be that ben is a good guy in the end... im just saying....

now, the whole 'who is bens man on the boat' issue is also getting on my nerfs. the previews say sumthin like 'a face you never thought youd see again' and ben wants locke to sit down for the info. everyones saying its going to be michael-- but neither of the teasy bits of info we got point to that... i know HP is coming back and all, and the party line is that he's the guy... but would locke really need to sit down for that? i wonder if its someone we thought was dead but isnt really.... ethan? did we actually see him get buried? i dont remember. i guess we would know if tom cruise's cousin was coming back. this season is grating on me a little, tho i do love daniel 'i sorta look like kenny loggins' faraday-- i loved the previous weeks episode (not to mention that my favorite sweaty scotsman desmond was all over that shit).

and we know someone's gonna die. its my prediction that its sawyer.

Date: 2008-03-08 11:06 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
You're probably right about Ben, but if he's a good guy I wish he'd just fess up. Even if he is a good guy, he completely deserves all the asskickings he's received, and all future asskickings as well, just for being so evasive and ridiculous.

I didn't like him being all possessive over Juliet, either. Creepo.

I bet it's going to be Michael, now that you mention it, since he's supposed to be coming back. Eh.

Desmond is my favorite too!!! I've loved him ever since his first insane appearance in the hatch. Awww.

Date: 2008-03-08 11:04 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] swissmissus.livejournal.com
oh also-- im thinking of moving to philly. should i? is it a 'spensive place to live?

Date: 2008-03-08 11:09 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
Less expensive than NYC or Boston. More expensive than some other places. It's pretty okay here. Actually it's a very cool city, with lots to do, and museums and art and music and shit, but I'm just not in love with it. If I had my pick of everywhere to move, I'd go somewhere warm. But there are a lot of good things about Philly. Not least of which is that we could hang out all the time, especially after F moves here!!!

Profile

supercheesegirl: (Default)
supercheesegirl

September 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:48 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios