Here's what's been on TV lately:
American Idol: Chikezie got offed last week. I was a little sad, because I thought Chikezie could have used another chance to bring it, but my favorites (David Cook and Brooke White) are still in it to win it, so I'm OK. David Cook totally rocked everyone's asses last week with his cover of "Billy Jean". It was completely awesome. The only other notable performance was by Horrible Awful Bland Blonde Kristy Lee Cook, who sang "God Bless the USA". What a brilliantly calculated choice! Ditching her after that would be unpatriotic! Also, it was the best I've ever heard her sing. Not that that's saying much, but still. Simon agreed with me that it was possibly the cleverest song choice ever on the show.
LOST: It wasn't on last week! WTF? Well, I hope it's not on this week, either, because I'm going to Vegas.
Dexter: I am so completely hooked now. Thank you to everyone who responded that they've seen the show, because I feel justified and happy to do some ranting. OK, so I've seen up through episode 8. I was intrigued and interested in Dexter from the first, but things started to get really interesting in episode 6 or 7. The Ice Truck Killer dove down and got that woman's body to set Dexter up! I was really nervous when Dexter was falsifying evidence, but he did a good job. And the moment when Dexter sat down with the supposed "Ice Truck Killer" and the guy asks "who the hell are you?" So brilliant. I had to watch the next episode right away. But what really got me, of course, is poor Deb. She's falling in love with that creep. I knew something was off about him, and I was worried because she's never felt like this before and she's really getting in deep, but then at the end of the episode we see who he is! And what he's doing! And he told her on the phone that he was finishing up some housecleaning, exactly the same way that Dexter would say it. You know he's only dating Deb to get close to Dexter. I am afraid for Deb and floored that the ITK is so good at what he does. I would like to watch the rest of the show right this minute.
John Adams: Anyone else out there watching the HBO series? Because OMG, seriously good stuff here, people. My parents get HBO and taped the first three parts for me, and I'm totally into it. It's extremely well acted, and it's put together very well. The first part was a little odd, because I sort of felt like I was coming in at a random spot--it opens with Adams coming home to his wife on the night of the Boston Massacre--and the story just sort of tosses you in there. I also find it a little difficult to tell the different men apart in their wigs. They sort of all look alike. I didn't know for the longest time who Jefferson was. Hopefully he'll grow a backbone before he gets to be President. Anyway, it's a terrific series and I recommend it.
New Amsterdam: I didn't watch it last night. I discovered I was more interested in watching the first Continental Congress (ie, part 2 of John Adams), which, again, I had on tape. How often does anyone get to say THAT? I'm not sure if this has more to do with the awesomeness of John Adams or the lameness of New Amsterdam, but it's clearly not a good sign for our sexy immortal detective.
My parents, by the way, are awesome. They recently got the HD cable setup, or whatever, with HBO. So they are watching John Adams and taping it for me. After John Adams is over, they plan to cancel their HBO and switch to Showtime instead, so they can on-demand the second season of Dexter (and tape it for me). Way to work the system!
American Idol: Chikezie got offed last week. I was a little sad, because I thought Chikezie could have used another chance to bring it, but my favorites (David Cook and Brooke White) are still in it to win it, so I'm OK. David Cook totally rocked everyone's asses last week with his cover of "Billy Jean". It was completely awesome. The only other notable performance was by Horrible Awful Bland Blonde Kristy Lee Cook, who sang "God Bless the USA". What a brilliantly calculated choice! Ditching her after that would be unpatriotic! Also, it was the best I've ever heard her sing. Not that that's saying much, but still. Simon agreed with me that it was possibly the cleverest song choice ever on the show.
LOST: It wasn't on last week! WTF? Well, I hope it's not on this week, either, because I'm going to Vegas.
Dexter: I am so completely hooked now. Thank you to everyone who responded that they've seen the show, because I feel justified and happy to do some ranting. OK, so I've seen up through episode 8. I was intrigued and interested in Dexter from the first, but things started to get really interesting in episode 6 or 7. The Ice Truck Killer dove down and got that woman's body to set Dexter up! I was really nervous when Dexter was falsifying evidence, but he did a good job. And the moment when Dexter sat down with the supposed "Ice Truck Killer" and the guy asks "who the hell are you?" So brilliant. I had to watch the next episode right away. But what really got me, of course, is poor Deb. She's falling in love with that creep. I knew something was off about him, and I was worried because she's never felt like this before and she's really getting in deep, but then at the end of the episode we see who he is! And what he's doing! And he told her on the phone that he was finishing up some housecleaning, exactly the same way that Dexter would say it. You know he's only dating Deb to get close to Dexter. I am afraid for Deb and floored that the ITK is so good at what he does. I would like to watch the rest of the show right this minute.
John Adams: Anyone else out there watching the HBO series? Because OMG, seriously good stuff here, people. My parents get HBO and taped the first three parts for me, and I'm totally into it. It's extremely well acted, and it's put together very well. The first part was a little odd, because I sort of felt like I was coming in at a random spot--it opens with Adams coming home to his wife on the night of the Boston Massacre--and the story just sort of tosses you in there. I also find it a little difficult to tell the different men apart in their wigs. They sort of all look alike. I didn't know for the longest time who Jefferson was. Hopefully he'll grow a backbone before he gets to be President. Anyway, it's a terrific series and I recommend it.
New Amsterdam: I didn't watch it last night. I discovered I was more interested in watching the first Continental Congress (ie, part 2 of John Adams), which, again, I had on tape. How often does anyone get to say THAT? I'm not sure if this has more to do with the awesomeness of John Adams or the lameness of New Amsterdam, but it's clearly not a good sign for our sexy immortal detective.
My parents, by the way, are awesome. They recently got the HD cable setup, or whatever, with HBO. So they are watching John Adams and taping it for me. After John Adams is over, they plan to cancel their HBO and switch to Showtime instead, so they can on-demand the second season of Dexter (and tape it for me). Way to work the system!
no subject
Date: 2008-04-01 08:35 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2008-04-01 10:30 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2008-04-02 03:45 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2008-04-02 11:12 am (UTC)From:I'm still watching. It's just getting on my nerves. Too many mysteries, not enough answers, like always.
no subject
Date: 2008-04-02 01:01 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2008-04-01 08:40 pm (UTC)From:Oh yeah, I almost forgot that they reveal the Ice Truck Killer at the end of E8 "Shrink Wrap".
And he told her on the phone that he was finishing up some housecleaning, exactly the same way that Dexter would say it.
Oh yes. Dexter and the Ice Truck Killer have so much in common, although I think the Ice Truck Killer is better at pretending to be a real person. But maybe that's because we're hearing Dexter's inner monologue so we know what he's really thinking and not feeling. I guess if you took the monologue away Dexter would seem a lot more normal.
OMG, you're totally getting to the GOOD part of Season 1. From here expect to NEED to watch the next episode as soon as the last one ends. Devote enough time to finishing the series in one sitting, okay?
Soon you'll find out a lot more about Dexter's past and how he became the way he is- what damaged him to that degree.
You know he's only dating Deb to get close to Dexter.
Things get dangerous for more than just Deb, too. I mean that's the thing I love about this show. As a viewer you're rooting for Dexter but really he's a heartless killer. Without Harry's code he would be just like the Ice Truck Killer. He follows Harry's code because it was taught to him and not because he feels a moral responsibility to do so (imo, this is not explicitly stated in the show). The Ice Truck Killer reflects what Dexter is really. And the Ice Truck Killer has no hesitation to harm anyone that might serve his purpose to kill. He's playing a game with Dexter and going after Deb is more than wanting to get close to Dexter, imo. He wants to push Dexter, to test him.
Another thing I really love about this show is how all the characters become more and more interesting. Angel, LaGuerta and Doakes all have really interesting stories of their own that are not related to Dexter.
Yay, Dexter!
no subject
Date: 2008-04-01 10:29 pm (UTC)From:You've seen more of the show than I have, but I think Dexter does operate under a moral system. Not a normal one, sure, and not one he would have had without Harry's influence. But parents are supposed to instill morals in their children, right? I think Dexter recognizes and appreciates that there are good and beautiful things in the world, even though he can't participate in that goodness. I think he must believe in what Harry's taught him, at least in some part of his twisted soul, because otherwise he would have chucked the code of Harry when Harry died, or, heck, he would have just killed Harry. I think the juxtaposition of Dexter with the ITK is really interesting because that's exactly what he could have been. At least so far, the ITK seems to be a worse monster than Dexter is.
I so want to see what Angel's backstory is. I love Angel. It's a really nicely complicated show.
no subject
Date: 2008-04-02 12:05 am (UTC)From:I don't think Dexter shares Harry's morals or necessarily has morals of his own but he follows Harry's code because he (and Deb) view Harry in an almost god-like capacity. He kills because he must kill. He chooses who he kills because of Harry's code but I don't think Dexter kills because he thinks it's "right" or "wrong".
He's a pretty complicated character, to be sure. When he lets the boy killer go, he does so not because the boy doesn't fit the code, because the boy does fit the code, but because Dexter sees him as a killer like himself and he can abide by that. Of course until the boy kills again for no reason.
We've seen that Dexter doesn't want to stop the Ice Truck Killer, even though the Ice Truck Killer does not follow any code. I think he doesn't see the Ice Truck Killer as he sees most other killers because he relates to/ sympathizes with the Ice Truck Killer.
I think Dexter does, however, have some morals or feelings of some kind- at least for Deb and Rita and the kids. But I think those feelings are mostly lost to him, perhaps they are unrecognizable to him so he is not aware that they exist. However, his behavior towards Deb, Rita and the kids shows that he does care for them.
Angel is awesome. He's one of the few "good" characters on the show. Most of the other characters have pretty significant flaws and flirtations with badness. Angel, Deb and Rita are uniquely good.
Dexter
Date: 2008-04-01 09:32 pm (UTC)From:I'm so glad you're watching this too! I keep wondering if I should be worring what it says about me that I like this character so much. For me the show is kinda of like a bundle of glee, a great big psychotic, serial killing bundle of glee.
Is that wrong?
Re: Dexter
Date: 2008-04-01 10:21 pm (UTC)From:Glad you stopped yourself reading my LJ-cut. When you get another episode or two in, you find out some stuff about Deb's new beau. I have heard from friends that, for the last 4-6 episodes of the first season, you want to watch them all in one sitting. Even my mom couldn't help herself and had to watch the last three episodes at once. Do you have Netflix?
no subject
Date: 2008-04-01 10:48 pm (UTC)From: