I went to see the Twilight movie last night. It was totally awesome. In the exact same way that the books are totally awesome.
In the first five minutes of the movie, we meet Jacob for the first time, and his teeth are so glaringly white it's amazing. It's like the words jumped right up there on the screen. In the science lab scene, when Edward gets his first whiff of Bella, it's just hilarious. Other chicks in the theater were also quietly giggling (but not chuckling, none of us were chuckling). Bella was just the right kind of whiny, and Edward was just exactly perfect. I loved the movie. Rarely have I seen a film adaptation stick so closely to the spirit of the book it's based on.
This, of course, makes me worry for the next movie, especially since the studio is on an obvious course of "this will make a lot no matter what we do, so let's just churn it out as fast as possible". They fired the director of the first movie when she asked for more time (they want to start shooting this spring and they don't even have a script yet) and a better special effects budget (not unreasonable, considering they've got people transforming into wolves in the second movie). So, worrisome. We'll see.
In the first five minutes of the movie, we meet Jacob for the first time, and his teeth are so glaringly white it's amazing. It's like the words jumped right up there on the screen. In the science lab scene, when Edward gets his first whiff of Bella, it's just hilarious. Other chicks in the theater were also quietly giggling (but not chuckling, none of us were chuckling). Bella was just the right kind of whiny, and Edward was just exactly perfect. I loved the movie. Rarely have I seen a film adaptation stick so closely to the spirit of the book it's based on.
This, of course, makes me worry for the next movie, especially since the studio is on an obvious course of "this will make a lot no matter what we do, so let's just churn it out as fast as possible". They fired the director of the first movie when she asked for more time (they want to start shooting this spring and they don't even have a script yet) and a better special effects budget (not unreasonable, considering they've got people transforming into wolves in the second movie). So, worrisome. We'll see.
no subject
Date: 2008-12-22 05:45 pm (UTC)From:And surprisingly ended up enjoying it. So I decided to read the books. And yes, the movie follows the book more closely than any other I have pretty much ever seen.
Though I have some hard core Twilight fan friends who said that they left a lot out and it wasn't so good because of that. Dude. It was a 500 page book. There is only so much you can cram into a two hour long movie. And even a lot of die hard fans won't sit through a five hour movie.
Though I thought Jacob was prettier than Edward. (Which isn't to say that Edward wasn't very pretty.
no subject
Date: 2008-12-23 03:09 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2008-12-22 06:17 pm (UTC)From:i didn't think it was bad, either. we both thought the revealing of the sparkly skin was pretty silly (he looked like he was really sweaty with glitter all over him. and the chest baring was excessive, out of the context of the intended audience.). i'm usually really good at totally suspending my disbelief, even in the worst of movies. i love getting my money's worth out of a movie. but i have to say there was one tiny bit that i found completely unbelievable, vampires and such aside. given that this family of vampires has been around for centuries, and in that time they have accumulated a great deal of wealth, i could not abide that edward was playing a kawai grand piano. all the great taste and refinement displayed all over that house, and they couldn't be bothered to buy a steinway or bösendorfer? hell, even a vintage baldwin. amy had the same problem (we both have voice degrees. go figure.).
no subject
Date: 2008-12-23 03:12 pm (UTC)From:I'm the same way about movies, and books too. I'm always open to enjoying the hell out of whatever it is, and it has to be really truly awful for me not to like it.
Steinway probably just didn't want to sponsor it. :)