supercheesegirl: (yoga)
Yesterday morning I did 30-35 minutes of yoga. It was pretty standard, I think. First yoga practice in a while without a wrist brace. I can do upward dog if I warm up with a few sun salutations doing cobra first, but definitely can't do crow yet without a brace.

I was up a little early and so had time to do a little extra, so I listened to the slightly longer Anoushka Shankar playlist. I need to switch the order of the last two songs (a song called "Suspicious Grains", or suspicious anything really, should not be a song to meditate to), but otherwise it was fine.

Today was week 6 of morning jogwalking! F decided to come with me. I was proud of myself: I didn't push myself too hard to go faster for him. I kept my own good pace, which is the pace that over the past few weeks I learned I can keep up for a full 30 minutes. My pace is slow, which works for me. F is capable of going much faster, and before when we jogged together I felt bad that he had to hold himself back for me and so I tried to go faster too, which wasn't good for me. Today, I went at my speed. For F, that meant that he had a really uneven workout--he'd jog with short little steps beside me for a while, then jog up ahead, then wait for me and walk beside me, then run ahead again. That must have been frustrating. If F comes with me again he might just powerwalk next to me while I jog. I guess we aren't really compatible as jogging buddies, but F thinks it's boring to jog alone, and wouldn't do it in the morning on his own anyway, so going with me is probably better than not going at all (although he is getting back to going to the gym after work, which for him is better than jogging). F also says he is impressed by me continuing to get up and do this. For my part, I actually like being out and about first thing in the morning, seeing people with their dogs, kids catching the bus, the neighborhood waking up, and I'm happy to go on my own or with F. I plan to continue the jogwalking until the weather makes it so I can't. Maybe then I'll add in another morning yoga practice or something.

Date: 2009-10-13 02:38 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] asciikitty.livejournal.com
fwiw, interval training is supposed to be really really healthy, so maybe F could think of it like that? "sprint" for a little bit, slow down to a walk while you catch up, power walk with you for a bit, lather rinse repeat?

also? between what you said yesterday about yoga and the yoga posts you've been making, maybe it's worth defining a "yoga session" as any block of time of more than 20 minutes in which you practice yoga? because I feel like you've actually been doing a hell of a lot of yoga, but because of how you're tracking it, it feels to you like less. And that can be discouraging. I dunno, it's just a thought.

also also? I'm really glad you're making these posts, because it reminds me to get off my ass occasionally and go for a walk or whatever. And that's really important.

Date: 2009-10-13 03:04 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
You're right: I do feel like I've been doing a lot of yoga lately, but the tracking of it isn't helpful. I've been clocking at least twice a week, often three times a week. But since they're short sessions it ends up being less total time than if I'd gone to one yoga class, you know? I think it's better to practice more often, but there are a lot of things I'm not doing because of having such short sessions. There are good things and bad things. Maybe I could figure out a way to count 20+ minutes as one session but give extra points when I get in a 60 minute session? That would be kind of the opposite of how I'm counting now, but might be more affirming. Definitely need to think more on this.

I am glad to hear that my OCD tracking tendencies are inspirational!! I like keeping track for myself, but I do sometimes worry that it's annoying for all y'all who are reading. I'm glad that's not always the case.

Date: 2009-10-13 03:10 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] asciikitty.livejournal.com
you know? if you give yourself extra credit for the longer ones, that might be good. because it's really easy to get in the habit of just saying "oh, i can't do a while practice, so it won't count, so i won't do any" and if you instead are able to say "hooray, I can do an extra long practice, so it will count double" it will be better for you AND ultimately give you more practices, yes? And, yeah, it might be better if you did two hour-long practices instead of three 35 minute-long practices, but it's better to do three short practices than one long one, so... bleh, I don't know.

I'm totally a lazy slug, so it's not perfect, but anything that gets me moving is a good thing.

Profile

supercheesegirl: (Default)
supercheesegirl

September 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 10:55 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios