supercheesegirl: (heroes - hiro waffles)
Today has been an up-and-down day already. I was up late last night, so I decided to let myself sleep in a bit this morning--I didn't get up early to do yoga or jog, I just slept in. So that was nice, but then the lamp on the timer went off, as we've been trying to get it to do for the past two weeks, but it went off at the early time before I meant to get up, so that was less good. I was still in a good mood as I got ready for work, even though I knew it was raining out--I planned ahead and wore my rain boots. But as soon as I got outside, I discovered that my rain boots and flimsy umbrella and little sweater were not going to be adequate protection against the elements. There was a river of rain all the way down the sidewalk. It was raining sideways, and raining hard. And it turns out I need new rain boots. I may only wear the things a couple times a year, but you know, they should be waterproof when I wear them. So my feet got drenched, my pants got drenched, my shirt and sweater got wet, my purse and tote bag got all wet, and when I called F to let him know to wear boots and crappy pants and bring his work clothes to change into, my crappy umbrella turned inside out. And then the train was late, so I got to stand outside in the windy damp cold for an extra 10-15 minutes.

Here's a picture of the rain fountaining off the roof of the train station:

It's not supposed to be doing that. (When I uploaded this picture, I didn't add a title, so LJ Scrapbook named it "Picture 404". Yeah, pretty much: 404'd!!)

When the train finally did come, I was so uncomfortable and grumpy that I didn't even want to get a book out of my wet bag. I just sat there grumpily. But then my morning started to turn around. I remembered that I had a Starbucks giftcard in my tote bag, and it still had $5 on it. When I got downtown I went to Starbucks and got a grande chai nonfat latte! And the barrista girl spilled some guy's coffee, but it wasn't mine! And whatever wrath of [fill-in-deity] storm was hitting Swarthmore, it wasn't hitting downtown, so I didn't get any wetter, just more windblown.

And then, when I got upstairs, I found a message in my inbox from Jenn Link. Jenn Link is an awesome DC-based wedding photographer, and she is hosting a "Geek Love" free wedding photography contest. The deadline was yesterday, and F and I had been working on our contest entry essay for the past two weeks and had just submitted it, and Jenn wrote back right away and said she loved our story! So that made me really excited.

And while my pants are still all wet, which isn't particularly comfortable, at least I had a bunch of sweaters at the office and could change my sweater. I'm now wearing my ivory "hangover sweater" sweater, which is fuzzy and comforting. Oh, and I made a donation to the MS Society, and I'm going to send the matching gift form today, too, and the matching gift form always makes me happy. So today is looking up!

::edit:: And I forgot to mention that now I have a renewed resolve to find the yellow rain slicker I've been dreaming of, along with rain boots to match it, and a shiny new umbrella. I really really need the new umbrella. I've never spent more than $10 on an umbrella before, but I think it's time. Perhaps a big rainbow one!

::edit #2:: My most wonderful fiance just sent me links to an assortment of yellow rain slickers on ebay. I am considering this one, because I really want a hood.

I'm also considering the Lands' End sun shower raincoat (which is so stylish, but it doesn't have a hood), or the sun shower rain parka (which does have a hood but looks less stylish to me). Also, it looks as though the matching Lands' End wellie boots are on sale. I will consider other suggestions.

Date: 2009-09-11 04:56 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] birdmaddgirl.livejournal.com
i have a link at home to a place with neat umbrellas... i will send it to you over the weekend

Date: 2009-09-11 10:02 pm (UTC)From: [personal profile] lizabethanqueen
lizabethanqueen: (Default)
Yeah I was mostly underground for my commute (above ground for about 6 blocks) and I was completely soaked by the time I got to work. I should get a rain coat and boots. I just have a windbreaker with a hood but it's not enough. Boots are necessary since the sidewalks are so full of puddles! I considered hip waders today too since people love to drive through the puddles and splash everyone.

Date: 2009-09-11 10:25 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] amazonsun.livejournal.com
Yikes! That's quite the morning!

Yeah, I like the yellow ebay rain slicker too. Pretty snazzy!! And wellie boots are awesome! I have a pair and it doesn't even really rain here. I have rain boots, but no umbrella. hehe

Date: 2009-09-12 04:57 am (UTC)From: [personal profile] minkrose
minkrose: (Default)
I need a raincoat too - when I look at the entire women's Raincoats section, I noticed the Regular Sunshower Long Raincoat. Maybe not as stylish, but it is long and will keep you dry. I think I will buy it for myself because I will be doing a lot of walking outside and my nice, wool winter coat is just too heavy (even if it has a hood and keeps me dry).

Of course, it may not match you boots. For me, full coverage is the goal. I'm glad you posted those, because the last time I tried to look at LL Bean and I couldn't load the site and I gave up. I didn't even think of Land's End.

You are my super helpful blogger this week!!

Date: 2009-09-12 12:39 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
I am so glad you linked me back to Lands' End, because I just saw one there that I hadn't seen before! The Sunshower Rain Slicker is pretty much exactly what I want! I didn't see it before because I'd just searched for "rain coat", and this time I browsed through the Rainwear category. Ooh! Now I'm totally psyched. I was planning on going to the mall this morning anyway to investigate a coat F saw at Boscov's, but now I will expand and go to Sears too to check out their Lands' End stuff.

I feel you on the long wool coat being too much. I love my long wool coat but it's just really long--like, I go out for dinner and it's spilling out the booth all over the place! I think we urban professional women need a good variety of coats from which to choose. :)

I tried looking at Bean too but didn't see anything like what I wanted. F actually sent me a link to a Lands' End coat on Amazon, so I went to check them out on the Lands' End website. Glad I could help!!

Date: 2009-09-12 07:12 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] supercheesegirl.livejournal.com
Hey, if you're going to order from their website, F found a free shipping coupon code: use code FSWEATER, and PIN 00004805.

Profile

supercheesegirl: (Default)
supercheesegirl

September 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:24 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios