supercheesegirl: (lost - desmond drunk)
I am trying to post more Actual Content here (not just book reviews and yoga posts and where I last jogged), so here's what's going on lately:

Last week (May 31), F's good friends Sara and Gene got married. We flew out to Ann Arbor, Michigan for the wedding, along with a whole crew of F's Florida friends. We rented out an entire B&B together and had a really excellent time. Most of them went to college together (New College; F went to Eckerd and met them all a few years later) and they're all close and know each other really well, but I'd met most of them before (Sara and Gene were the only ones I hadn't met yet) and I wasn't even worried about fitting in. As F's friend Molly said, "You're like the friend we hadn't met yet!" So that was awesome. I really like all of F's friends and I can't wait to see them at our wedding. Or sooner, if they come visit. Also, Ann Arbor is a really cute little town with lots of shops and restaurants. We passed three different chocolate shops (and sampled from two of them). And in Michigan, you can buy liquor at the Rite Aid. Overall, an excellent weekend.

We woke up pretty hung over Monday morning, and our flight home wasn't until after 8 PM, so we had the whole day to kill. So we went to the movies. We stopped and got sandwiches and smuggled them in in my purse. We saw Up in 3D, and it was terrific. I cried several times and so did F. Then, because we still had plenty of time, we snuck into Star Trek. And that was also awesome. I really liked it very much, and I have a lot of respect for J.J. Abrams for how well he walked the line between respecting the old series and creating something new. I am entirely psyched for the next movie. And Simon Pegg is the PERFECT Scottie, and I was completely enchanted by how well that kid nailed Chekhov's accent. Really excellent.

Of course, as soon as we got back, F started feeling sick. He had the sore throat ick, which developed into the sinus congestion ick, and just today is starting to become the chest congestion ick. Incidentally, F had to spend all week working because it was Reunion Weekend at his college, so his department was really busy, and then he had to work all day Saturday at the reunions. He left the house at 7:30 AM and didn't get home until 9:45 PM. It was F's Bad Week.

I had a pretty good week last week. I went to my parents' on Wednesday to see Vegas Week on SYTYCD. Thursday I had Small Group with my church friends. My friend Cara has an excellent apartment, and at her wedding, she will be using large plastic (or rubber, I didn't touch them) dinosaurs as the centerpieces. She insists on sitting at the Brachiosaur Table. I am enchanted. We ate a lot of food and talked until late, but F was very understanding and still watched the end of Vegas Week on SYTYCD with me to see who the top 20 would be (and I have to say, wrong call on the Broadway Brothers, WRONG CALL).

Saturday I was supposed to be packing all day, but I only packed for maybe half the day. I am still sore from that amount of packing, so I am concerned for my moving stamina. All day Sunday I would clutch my back when I stood up, just like my dad. Not good. Perhaps this is a clue that the book boxes are too heavy, but I'll be damned if I'm repacking them now.

Sunday morning I woke up with a sore throat that hasn't gone away yet. It is even more Not Good than my back is. I'm drinking ThroatCoat tea right now and hoping it'll go away before it settles in. I was just sick last month!!

F and I have been watching Six Feet Under. We've finished the first two discs of season 1. I'm entirely hooked. David needs to get back together with Keith! And I'm totally betting that Brenda has slept with Billy (and I said so, even before Brenda accused Nate of suggesting it).

I think that's good for this post. That's a lot of stuff.
supercheesegirl: (watch out!)
Thanks for all the sweet birthday wishes, everybody. I had a nice day. Unfortunately, between all the soy milk I've been drinking lately and some ham that was a little too far past its expiration date, my stomach was seriously upset yesterday afternoon and evening. I took an hour and a half nap, then went over to Lisa's, where I did not drink any liquor. We still went to the Tilly & the Wall concert, though, and had a really good time. Photos to follow, hopefully tonight. Overall, it was still a good birthday in spite of the uproar in my bowels.

Today, as a result of said uproar, I took a half a sick day from work and slept the hell in, then took my time eating breakfast (with organic cow milk, thankyouverymuch) and getting ready. This afternoon in the office, I made it through my email but not much else. The flowers F sent me last week are blooming beautifully, and K and C brought me a birthday cupcake. It's been a pretty good day.

Skipping yoga tonight--I just don't feel strong enough for an intense class right now. I will try to go to Sati's class tomorrow, even though I don't like her style as much, because I really do need to get back into it.

I am missing F a lot today.
supercheesegirl: (dentist)
Today I was supposed to go to Quizzo night, but I had to bail on my team. Instead I went to the dentist. Results: it's hard to tell. It's probably not a root canal type of problem, because that would involve lots of horrible shooting pain and discomfort when the tooth is just sitting there. I have more of a dull ache, with serious discomfort brought on only when my dentist seriously stabs at the tooth--which would probably happen no matter which tooth she stabbed, considering how sensitive my teeth are. She says it could be that my sinuses are inflamed and are pressing on the tooth root--she showed me the x-ray and seriously, my sinuses are right down there in my tooth roots, all mixed together, so that's a definite possibility. The z-pack I took is also clouding the issue. I am to put nice warm compresses on my face for the next few days, and rinse my mouth with warm salt water, and if it's not better by Friday morning, I am to call and let her know and then go get some pennicilin. She gave me a prescription just in case. In the meantime, the warm compresses and salt water rinses will help regardless of what it is I've got.

Because I knew I was going to the dentist, I also skipped Scrabble to take a short lunch break. Jean, Christine, and Kari played without me. I stopped in for the second half of the game while I ate my lunch, and I learned that SPATHOSE is a valid word. You learn something new every day. (Kari won.)

Now my achy tooth and I are going to Mom's house to watch American Idol.

Oh, and I got a box of checks in the mail today. They have my correct address on them! For the first time since I moved to this apartment over a year ago! (I couldn't see the sense in buying more checks when I still had a whole box of the old ones.) But now, correct address! They also have pretty unicorns on them. Fucking score. They're awesome. Now I can pay some bills. I was seriously out of checks.

Also, my mom is RIGHT AT THIS MOMENT participating in a market research study that requires her to EAT CHEESE for two hours and GET PAID $75. THAT IS MY GODDAMN DREAM JOB.

I'm unreasonably excited about the unicorns.

::edit:: OK, sorry, it was actually only 45 minutes. But still!

sick sick!

Mar. 6th, 2008 07:30 pm
supercheesegirl: (lost - hurley dude)
I just spent $35 on various cold medicines!! Mom said she'd pay me back for the Mucinex, though, because she wants to know how it works. That shit's pricey.

I also purchased a candy bar. Milky Way Midnight is one of my all-time favorites. I'm going to go eat that.

still sick

Mar. 6th, 2008 08:16 am
supercheesegirl: (lost - hurley dude)
Called out sick again today. The fever seems to have broken last night, so I guess technically I'm good to go to work, but I figure I'm not genuinely sick very often, so I might as well take the extra day and make sure I'm really okay. (Last year, I think I used 2.5 of my 10 sick days on actual illness--specifically, last February's stomach bug; I know I used some time on routine doctor/dentist appointments, and plus at least two days on nothing health-related whatsoever, and I'm pretty sure I lost a day or two at the end of the year because I didn't use them. So, yeah, not sick all that often.)

There's still the sore throat, and the achiness and chills, and now the exciting new cough. Plus the tiredness. After I called out I flopped on the bed and was just so relieved that I could take a nap in a little while. Naps = the bomb. So I think I made the right choice. I feel significantly more like myself than I did yesterday--I even showered!--but I can tell I'm still not right. This afternoon, I will probably make an outing to go the store for more cold meds and maybe soup, and we'll see how that goes. Yesterday afternoon I was really good, so hopefully I will be today.

Time to go make more tea.
supercheesegirl: (ieat)
Okay, I know I'm not supposed to be excited about losing weight while I was sick. But my jeans! They're loose IN THE THIGHS! I can't remember the last time any of my pants were loose in the thighs. They're so much more comfortable! I don't have a scale in my apartment so I don't know exactly what weight I'm at right now, but holy crap I want to maintain it.

sick

Feb. 7th, 2007 05:56 pm
supercheesegirl: (grumpzor)
I have a stomach bug. I have been alternating sleeping and throwing up, all day. I like my new apartment but there is no one nearby to bring me pepto and sprite. But I managed to make myself some jello, which I think I'll be okay to have for dinner in a few hours. I am all tired and weak. And when I said to myself that I never ever wanted to leave my awesome new apartment, this isn't what I meant! Going to work would be better than throwing up all day! And that's saying something.

Profile

supercheesegirl: (Default)
supercheesegirl

September 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 08:31 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios