supercheesegirl: (star trek - sulu huzzah)
F and I went for a good hike on Sunday. We walked over to Wissahickon Valley Park, entered the park from Rex Ave, hiked all the way over to the Valley Green Inn, stopped for a pee break, then hiked back. We also stopped by a pretty stream and waterfall for a picnic lunch, and then again along the creek to dip our toes in. It was a wonderful afternoon. The only downside was that we only packed one bottle of water, so after it ran out, walking home again was rather unpleasant. But then we drank a quart of lemonade and watched Buffy, so all was well again. Overall it was a lovely day.

Yesterday was my last comp theory class. I handed in my paper, gave my little presentation, filled out the evaluation form, etc. It was a really good class, and now I have a ton of new things on my To Read list, and I feel like I learned a lot and that I could be a pretty good teacher. I don't know if I'll continue with the masters program at SJU--it's a fine program, but it's not the most convenient place to get to from either my current apartment or our new one over in Swarthmore, so I don't know. But I'm glad I took the class. Now just to receive my grade and then submit the paperwork to my company in the hopes that they'll pay me back for it.

And now that class is over, I can go back to my regularly scheduled reading, instead of focusing on comp all the time. I celebrated by filling up my library hold list with some travel writing, archaeology, women's history, a mystery novel, and a Guy Gavriel Kay fantasy novel. Score.

Oh yeah, I don't think I mentioned--F and I found a new apartment. It's a three bedroom, 1.5 bath place, spitting distance from the Swarthmore train station and a quick walk from F's office. His entire commute will pretty much disappear. The apartment itself is really nice. It's in a building that used to be an old fashioned hotel, and it's the suite that the really rich people rented--so the third bedroom was intended for the servant's quarters, and the half bath is actually a small toilet and a little hobbit-sized tub, no sink, attached to the little third bedroom. Because I'm guessing the servant couldn't possibly use the same bathroom as the family. So that's kind of cool and quirky. The third bedroom setup will be perfect if we decide to have a child while we're in this place, and will be perfect for a little yoga room for me until that happens. The rest of the rooms are quite large, and there are tons of large closets. There's a dishwasher too (the machine kind, not the kind that lives in the third bedroom). No laundry, unfortunately, which is the main downside, but several nearby laundromats, and walking distance to the Swarthmore co-op and some restaurants and a ten-minute drive to Media, where there are many cool and excellent things. Overall, we're really excited about the new place. Move in date is July 1, which is unfortunately a Wednesday. I still need to give notice at my current place, so I'm going to ask them if we can extend our lease just a little into July at a pro-rated rent so we can move over July 4th weekend. So we'll see about that.

I was also going to post about Heroes and a few other things, but I was just reminded that I have to be at a training at 10 am. Whee.

job?

Jan. 23rd, 2003 10:09 am
supercheesegirl: (scary monster!)
so should i apply for this job? on the one hand, it sounds like a pretty sweet deal: six classes at $30,000. that's two less classes than elan has, and $5000 more (but in boston, which is more expensive). so that's the good thing. but then there's that thing where i really don't want to teach.

-------
Northeastern University. Full-Time Lecturer in Writing. The English Dept. of Northeastern University seeks to fill four benefits-eligible, full-time Lecturer positions. Lecturers teach six sections of required writing courses per year (three sections per semester), at a starting annual salary of $30,000. Applicants must have an MA in English or other advanced degree. Please send an initial application, which should consist of a letter of application, a c.v., & a brief (1-2 page) statement of teaching philosophy. For more information, see http://www.hrm.neu.edu/jobs.html.
---------

the other thing is that i'd have to make a c.v. and figure out what my teaching philosophy is. and the teaching philosophy is total bullshit anyway; you're just supposed to write what they want to hear.

but should i apply? please leave comments.
supercheesegirl: (Default)
i think i'm a buffy addict now. we're two-thirds of the way through the first season (one dvd, four episodes left to go), and i'm already planning on hunting dan down to ask if i can borrow the second season from him. i made jorn watch two episodes with me last night. i was thinking about buffy in the middle of the night. i am all about it.

and you know what, i haven't been reading fantasy novels lately. usually, i'm all reading fantasy novels, and that's my big distraction and escape from real life. buffy doesn't take nearly as long as a fantasy novel (unless i watch several episodes in a row), so i think i'm doing well.

got up at 5:30am with jorn to watch the meteor shower. it was pretty cool. we stood outside in his neighborhood for like ten minutes and watched, saw a bunch of meteors, and didn't get mugged, so i think it was successful. only problem now is that i'm really tired--we went to bed after midnight, got up at 5:30, then went back to bed at 5:45, and woke up finally (at least i did) at 8:15 or so. so my sleep was all interrupted. and oddly, this is the second morning in a row that i've been awake and moving around at 5:30am.

today i get to teach workshop. there's three poems on the table today and all of them have good things going on in them, even the jesus one, so i'm not worried about having stuff to talk about.

next week, i'm so excited, i'm using up some of my saved hours from CASA, and i don't have any classes, so i'm driving to PA for thanksgiving with my family on MONDAY. that's several days before the actual holiday, and i won't be driving back to NC till sunday. i get almost a whole week's vacation! i'm so glad. time away from here, time with my family and my girlfriends. good good stuff.

this week:
wednesday: work at CASA 11:45-3:15. feminist theory 3:30-6:20 BUT i'm leaving early so i can help set up for Will Read For Food at 6pm. it starts at 7pm. (JORN--I forgot! do you think Leo could tape Enterprise for us??)
thursday: workshop 2-5. bar immediately afterward, then Garrett Hongo's reading at 8pm at the Ferguson Auditorium (wherever that is). possibly a party after that.
friday: work at CASA 10-2:30. dinner with Walt in Raleigh at 7pm probably. have to figure out where i'm going and where i'm meeting him.
saturday: work at blandwood 11-2.
sunday: work at blandwood 2-5.

busybusybusy!
supercheesegirl: (Default)
so today i taught class. it wasn't even a whole class that i had to teach, since there was a student presentation planned, but i was still all nervous. and then terry (the prof i'm teaching with) didn't come to class at all and just let me do it instead, which immediately made it both better and worse--better because there's less pressure since no one's watching me teach, and worse because what if they revolt? well, they didn't, although the group that was presenting today was a little weirded out that the prof didn't come to class. and i think i've figured out now what terry's up to: since i'm doing the current unit (today and next tuesday) and there's no class on thursday for conferences, he doesn't have to go to class for a week and a half. tricky tricky.

but anyway, teaching. the group did their presentation, and it was pretty hellishly boring. each one of them basically summed up the topic, and then discussed a few poems. they didn't plan a group activity or anything. so by the time they were finished, the class was fairly dead and the only one talking about anything was Jaimie, who always talks. i was glad i had planned a group activity, because it woke them up and they seemed to enjoy themselves and still sort of maybe learn something. and then there was only five minutes left of class so i let them go, since going always takes a while when they have stuff to hand in, which they always do. but anyway, i felt like it went well and i had things to say that were interesting and informative, even if it was just the correct pronunciation of "Roethke".

so next tuesday i'm in charge of workshop, which is not nearly as terrifying as actual teaching, which is not quite as terrifying as it was before. all in all, a good day! yay me.
supercheesegirl: (Default)
an update on the money issues: i talked to my parents last night, and after explaining the situation, they said they don't have any plans to stop sending me money every month and why am i worrying so much, why don't i just quit the job? they said they like being able to help me. they are super people. also, when i told my mom that i figured out how much i spend on a monthly basis ($850 at least), and that i can't figure out how to cut back any more, she said "i don't know how you cut back to that to begin with." my parents are really super. so is my jorn.

so. i'm really going to quit the hlc. it would be most convenient to quit today, because then with my two weeks notice i would be done there before the weekend of suzie's wedding, since i would need to take off for that anyhow. but there's no way really i can get over to the hlc today since thursdays are my busy days, and i respect thad too much to just quit over the phone. so it'll have to be monday or tuesday that i tell him, and so i'll have to offer to make 9/28 my last day, which is a little over two weeks, since i won't be able to come in earlier that week because i'll be driving home from suzie's wedding. maybe he'll be nice and just say that's okay. i doubt it--he's not going to be happy i'm quitting. not at all.

maybe i'll go back in the spring.

in other news, i'm definitely going to subscribe to jane magazine. i have the card on the table all filled out in front of me.

and i actually don't have that much school work to do this week, just some reading & etc, so that's good. i can hopefully get to the library and a) scan some pics and b) read stuff for the class i'm going to have to teach on 9/24. i don't want to teach, at all, ever, really. but i feel like now i'm committed to sticking by the teaching internship and doing the best i can. and i feel like i should at least be capable of teaching, to fall back on. i just don't think i really am capable of teaching. i don't mean that in the sense of not being intelligent and full of information, or in the sense of not being able to communicate that information well, but i do mean in the sense of being too terrified to actually communicate anything.

here's an example. on tuesday, we had a workshop. before class, the students had written out critiques of some poems, i had critiqued a few poems, and terry (the prof) had critiqued a few poems, and we all brought our written notes to class. so the students did some workshopping of the poems they had critiqued, and then terry suggested i start discussion on one of the ones i critiqued. so i did, and i had looked at this poem in some depth, so i got the ball rolling and said some things and then asked the class what they thought. two kids totally disagreed with me. like, flat out. and i had no idea what to say. terry bailed me out and sort of compromised by saying that instead of adding imagery (as i had suggested) the girl could work on her line breaks to add tension. then i was able to use that to suggest she could also work on cutting out some awkward language, but after that i didn't talk for the rest of the class i don't think.

i just don't think i'm meant to be a teacher. it seems like every other phucking person in the mfa program, and the mfa alums, are all teaching now, or want to teach, or taught high school before they came here, or something. i just can't do it. ever since i was a little kid i've been scared of people in groups. in sixth grade i was chosen to read a little speech at the phucking christmas pageant, and i worried myself sick over it, could barely read the thing, and had to miss the rest of the pageant so i could go home and throw up, and i was sick and home from school for the next two days. it's only continued from there. i feel like, i'm an intelligent person, i'm capable of anything! i should be able to do this! i should be able to conquer this fear! but it's too scary. i couldn't do the "writers in the schools" volunteer project last year because i was too scared to talk in front of a grade school class. and now i'm terrified of eighteen undergrads who write poems. i am such an idiot.

on another note, why do so many of my journal entries end with me expressing hatred and contempt toward myself? that's not cool.

we watched Teh Ymmum Returns last night, and it was fun. we also built jorn's bed, and it's still standing this morning. that's good too.
supercheesegirl: (Default)
dood. i'm phuckin' tired, and it's only 1:45 on a saturday afternoon.

first of all, jorn and i were up late last night. once we actually went to sleep, i slept really well. he knows how to take care of business, that man does. anyway, i couldn't sleep in because this morning i had to work 10-12 at the HLC. and no one was really "in charge" today, because thad is out of town for the weekend and debbie is still on her well-deserved vacation. tara was supposed to be on-call, and i don't know why no one called her, because we ended up being short two teachers. one of them had a death in the family, but the other was just not there--maybe she wasn't really scheduled and thad made a mistake, or maybe she just didn't come? we don't know. but we were short two teachers, so that when i got there, i got to work with two kids when i should've just been working with one. randy my little sweetheart was there, and so was wendi, who i also love, AND little lily, and there should have been one teacher for each kid, but instead there was just katie and i. so katie worked with little randy, and i tried working with both wendi and lily at the same time. this did not work out too well.

lily's only six, and she can't read well enough to be expected to work on her own for any length of time. wendi is eight, so she should be able to work on her own for at least a few minutes at a time, but she'll drift away if you don't stay on her, plus she's a chatterbox, plus she's always in some sort of pain from some newly-healed scrape. so wendi needed attention too. katie helped when randy was working on the computer, and anthony was on group so he helped with lily's stuff when the group was being quiet, and so it pretty much worked out. i mostly worked with wendi while katie and anthony helped lily along. most of the time i love working with wendi, but today she was getting on my nerves because i couldn't give her all my attention like usual, and she just was not being helpful. wendi whined about her vocab sentences SO MUCH--even after i had given her like six example sentences for the word "glance", she still insisted she couldn't think of anything. so i was like, FINE, close your book and let's do math, because she had dragged her feet for like 20 minutes on just the definitions and the first sentence already, and then she was all upset because i was being short with her. argh, wendi. so she didn't finish her program, and lily finished most of hers but not her vocab sentences either. there's just no way i could have had them both writing vocab sentences at once, because i think it's an inherent part of children that they just hate writing vocab sentences and must be prodded repeatedly to do it.

after work, i went to the Bilo (again) to pick up some gummi worms and swedish fish and blue jello. i've decided my dessert item for the picnic tomorrow will be aquarium jello, if i can figure out at what point to drop the fish in. Bilo also had little gummi sharks, so i was excited. i'm going to make a first draft with peach jello (b/c jorn likes that kind too) and drop in worms periodically to see when the best worm-dropping time is (after 20 minutes in the fridge? half an hour? etc). and then tomorrow morning hopefully i'll make a double of the blue jello and drop in fish and worms (for eels) and sharks. and i'm going to use a glass bowl, so people can see the fish in the aquarium. i'm just a little concerned because if i put too many things in, then the jello won't harden, but if i don't put enough in then each person at the party won't be able to have their own gummi fish/worm/shark. sigh. not like anyone's going to care; they're all better cooks anyway. at least i know jorn and i and rhett and xina will have some jello.

i made it all the way to the end of zelda: ocarina of time, but i don't feel like beating ganon and finishing the game. i did all the fun stuff already, and it takes a while to beat ganon, since you have to beat him twice (long story) and then watch the ending sequence. now i want to reinstall all the kings quest games and play them again, because they're super fun. jorn doesn't like the earlier ones, but i think they're the best. must resist the urge, though--i have dishes to do and jello to make and poems to write.

yum. gummi worms are good.
supercheesegirl: (Default)
so i haven't posted in a while. i guess i'm sort of feeling blah. (just like the count would say it, jorn.) i don't really want the next semester to start, which isn't good because it will start, on monday in fact. and i'm excited to meet all the new first-years in my program, but i'm going to be so busy and have so much work to do. i start feeling so resentful towards my MFA program sometimes, which isn't right because the budget crunch is NOT their fault, but my friends who are in writing programs at other schools don't have the money problems i do. and even a bunch of people in my own program don't have the money problems i do! i know one fiction writer who took the summer off to work on his novel. took the summer off! not fair! you'd think with 12-13 new people a year, they could afford to take care of us all. and i'm grateful i have the assistantship i do, since some people don't have a job at all, and it is a pretty cushy job where i only have to do actual work for about a month total each semester. and i'm grateful i had the summer assistantship with dr. langenfeld because he's awesome and it was good experience. but i only make $6000 a year, so i feel like the summer assistantship was my consolation prize for having the shittiest full-year job. and i need to work part-time, which lots of people don't have to do.

i do get another consolation prize--i asked for a teaching internship with terry, and i got it. basically i help him teach his intro poetry workshop and teach a few classes myself and observe him. but i'm horribly nervous about teaching--there's a huge difference between teaching SAT or tutoring or even giving tours, and standing in front of 20 people lecturing for an hour. it's absolutely terrifying. in college i would put hours of preparation into my class presentations and still near pass out from nervousness. so the teaching internship is a good thing, because hopefully it will break me of this fear, but it's also going to be a lot of work i don't really need at this point, since in addition to writing and having one actual english grad class and holding down three jobs i'll have to do this too. plus i want to go to the gym regularly, and have some fun on occasion. but i don't feel like i can turn down the teaching internship, because it is my consolation prize and i deserve it. but i also can't at this point quit any of my jobs. i just feel that, starting on monday, my life will be hellishly busy, and i just had a really nice summer and i don't want to get hellishly busy! *cries*

i also feel bad for jorn because danielle and elise are both moving away and i'm going to be all crazy so i won't get to spend as much time with him. he'll be lonely and sad, and i don't want him to be sad. maybe he'll play more guitar. sigh.

sorry for whining, folks.
supercheesegirl: (Default)
okay, so yesterday i had to work at the HLC twice--in the morning 9-11, and in the evening 5-7. in the morning i had twin #2 of the new boys, both of whom are very friendly and nice (i had twin #1 yesterday). i think twin #2 has a crush on me now. but they're 12 years old, which means that when i explain something, they say, "ok, that makes sense," or when i ask them to do something, they say "sure!" That's all i phucking ask--people who can be reasoned with. little kids do not reason; they whine.

which brings me to my evening.

i go in at 5pm, and i'm on the schedule with the shoe boy, whom i've mentioned before (see the links). and Shoe Boy is not in the mood to get anything done tonight. he likes to color things, and insists on picking up three markers when all he needs is one. so when he's not looking, i steal marker #2 and give it to another teacher to hide (all the teachers know how Shoe Boy gets) and i steal marker #3 and hide it in my pocket. which just pisses him off.

we read a little bit in his first book, but when we're ready to move on, another kid is using the second book on our list. with any other child, this would not be a problem--we'd just move on to book #3 and grab book #2 from the other kid when he's done with it--but Shoe Boy needs to do everything in the exact right order. he doesn't want to work in book #3, so he's insisting that book #2 is actually there on the shelf, and he's *arguing* with me about it when book #2 is clearly NOT THERE. so francine, another teacher, leans over and says to him, "we've got that book, and we'll give it to you when we're done." and boy, does that make him mad.

so on to book #3. he doesn't want to read. i ask him to read out loud, which he does first in a mumble, then in a baby voice i can't understand. then he starts reading but makes up the details as he goes, like saying that the dentist dresses up like a big tooth for halloween when the book doesn't say anything like that. so i say, should we go talk to dan and tell him you don't want to read? and he's like, no, i hate you. so i get dan, and dan patiently talks to Shoe Boy, who says he'll work. dan leaves the room and Shoe Boy turns evil again. i say , if you don't want to read out loud then you can read quietly, which he pretends to do but then marks down all the wrong answers, so i know he's not reading it at all. and i say that his answers are wrong, because i'm capable of reading the passage over his shoulder and knowing what the answer is, but he refuses to believe me that he's wrong until i go get the answer book and check his answers with it. the little pig. and he acts surprised that they're wrong.

so i ask him to read again, and he starts mimicking every word i say, repeating it back to me in this little whiny voice. PLEASE TAKE NOTE: if there's anything i cannot deal with, it's this. i have always HATED it when people do this to me, because it shows an absolute lack of respect for the other person, and besides which, it's really phucking rude. i'm thinking that if he keeps doing this, i will no longer be able to control my actions, and i don't want to get fired. keep in my that i've only been with Shoe Boy for half an hour, and we're already to this point. so i go to dan, and i say that it would probably be in Shoe Boy's best interest if another teacher can work with him for the rest of his time tonight, if dan can work that out for me. and dan says, i'll do my best.

five minutes later, i'm looking at the three 13-15 year old boys in the group, and dorothy is with Shoe Boy. and let me tell you, dorothy is my new phucking hero. she's got him sitting in his seat, reading out loud, doing his work. if Shoe Boy finishes his whole reading program, he gets to work on the computer, which he rarely gets to do because he's a little ass. but an hour later, i see Shoe Boy on the computer with dorothy right next to him, so he must've done his whole program. i was absolutely amazed. and i got along really well with the teenage boys in group, so i was happy with how the evening turned out.

i did feel kind of bad even asking to be switched from this kid, let alone sticking poor dorothy with him (she's only been at the HLC for a few weeks now). but there was no way he was going to work for me. he hates me, and it's not like we've got to be best friends or anything--i don't care if he hates me, but he's got to do his work while he's hating me, and he wasn't. and that doesn't do anyone any good. so i think i did the right thing. there's some kids that i get along great with, like little randy (who hugged me last week), and little wendi (this black girl who just cracks me right up), and i'm fine with all the older kids, but this Shoe Boy just isn't good for me. hopefully i won't get stuck with him again.

HLC: Randy!

Jun. 4th, 2002 07:20 pm
supercheesegirl: (Default)
tonight was such a good night! i didn't even mind being at the HLC. i worked with little Randy for the first time, and it was a great session--he was all excited about writing sentences, and they were good sentences for a seven-year-old! we laughed, we had fun, we finished his verbal program and did a good job on math too. nights like this make nights like last night worthwhile.

it's your job to remind of that the next time i have a night like last night. :)

i'm going to eat some strawberry waffles. and elan says she's going to make eggplant parmesan! and sarah b's supposed to call!
supercheesegirl: (Default)
so today was a good day for the most part. i woke up at jorn's house, went to the gym, played with my sims for a while this morning, showered, went to the office and did busywork for ELT, came home, and then went to the HLC for my evening hours. and i was working with the nice little boy. he's only five, so he's working on writing letters and recognizing simple words, stuff like that. and we got along great for the first 45 minutes or so, and then he got a little cranky and tired, and i guess i didn't see it and pushed at him too much, and he started crying and refused to work anymore today. which is not, in itself, a big deal--it happens sometimes, especially with the little kids, but as long as they're happy when they leave (and usually they are, just because they're leaving), then the parents don't hear about it.

but my problem is that this happens all the time *with me*. and i'm starting to wonder if it's the little kids just being little kids, or if it's me. this is the fourth kid that i've made cry. and i've never seen him crying when he was working with anyone else. that doesn't mean he never has, of course, just that i've never seen it. but i really kind of dread working with the little kids now, because they get upset and then they don't learn anything, and it does me no good because i get all stressed out. i've never before thought of myself as a person who makes children cry.

so that kind of killed my evening, and as i was pondering this on my way home, i nearly hit this woman on her bike. completely my fault, but i stopped in plenty of time. but she starts yelling obscenities at me. does this make me feel guilty for almost hitting her? no, it makes me almost wish i had hit her. bitch. although if it was me, i would've felt justified in yelling obscenities too. there were, i swear, six people on bikes just on the one street as i drove home. and all of them were in the street. now, i realize you get a better ride if you're in the street, and it's annoying to ride on the sidewalk, but honestly. and this one couple! i pass them as i'm approaching a red light. i stop at the red light. they come up past me on their bikes and without even slowing down to look, they ride right through the light. straight across the street. not even slowing down. granted, it was a one-way street, so they only had to look one way to see if there was traffic coming, but it's a three-lane one-way street. and aren't people on bikes supposed to follow the normal traffic laws anyway? couldn't they get a citation for that? they certainly should.

and then i get home, and i'm feeling all sorry for myself because i'm an asshole who makes little kids cry and then tries to kill bitches on bikes, and there's a package for me sitting in the stairwell. and it's from sarah b, and it contains all these weird fun crazy clothes that i'm guessing she got at the garment district or some other thrift store. two jackets, two shirts, and a pair of pants, all crammed in this little box. just because she got a good deal and was thinking of me. awww. i miss my roomie.

do days like this happen to other people? sometimes i feel like no one mood-swings like i do.
supercheesegirl: (Default)
yo yo yo. this week has been phreakin' busy.

Read more... )
supercheesegirl: (Default)
yeah, so i shaved my legs today. first time since february (i think). it's so nice and warm out, and i wanted to wear a short skirt, and i don't have the confidence at this point to wear shorts or a short skirt with furry legs. so they are shaven. only took like 40 minutes, too. and they are very soft and nice.

i should be working on poetry now, but i had a difficult time at work tonight--really hyper kid. wouldn't stop playing with his shoes, of all things. i had to take his shoes away from him. i'm confident, though, that he at least learned one thing tonight--how to spell "shoes". :) so that wiped me out. i hate it when that happens--i plan to do something and it gets messed up. and i'm such a sucker, i can't just tell dan i want fewer hours permanently. grr, me.

and then we went to tex & shirley's for two dollar all-you-can-eat pancakes. and it was good.

has lj been horrible to anyone else lately? it's impossible to get it to load in the evenings at all.

teaching

Mar. 27th, 2002 09:38 pm
supercheesegirl: (Default)
i got an easter package from my mom today! it had a big easter basket with all kinds of candy, and a furry stuffed duck, and new pajamas. the pajamas are really awesome - they're fleecy, and they're printed with little cats and dogs in bumper cars. very odd, but that's probably why my mom was able to get them half off.

and i had a really good night at job #2 tonight. i was on the floor, which means i was working with a bunch of kids, not just one on one with a little kid or an SAT student. it was good to work with many kids tonight. i usually feel more like i've actually taught someone something when i'm on the floor, because usually at least one kid profits by my being there, whereas if i'm doing one-on-one and the kid's tired or sick or grumpy, no learning occurs at all.

and when i started this job, i thought the whole "learning center" thing was kind of lame, you know, sylvan, huntington, all the SAT prep places, like what good do they do anyone really? but since i've been working here, i've seen kids improve by leaps and bounds. so many of the kids i work with just needed more reading practice and some individual attention, and they're flourishing and doing really well. granted, there's a few kids i've worked with who don't want to learn, and therefore they don't learn and they hinder everyone else. and some of my SAT prep students would be better off just going to cosmetology school instead of college. but i like this job, and i really thought i would hate it.

i don't know if i want to teach college though. this career thing, it's on my mind and stuff. it's one thing to teach someone something specific. like working at the HLC, there's these kids who can't read and have no study skills, and they have assignments to do, and i'm helping them learn. or working at the writing center my senior year at SU: people had papers they wrote that sucked and they needed me to help them figure out why. or working at the freshman advising center this year, or even being a tour guide - situations in which people come to me needing some specific information that i can provide, and then i provide it. that's one thing.

talking for an hour to a roomful of bored freshmen or high school kids is something else entirely. it's like having to give a presentation every day, and we all know how i feel about giving presentations. it skeeves me out (if you didn't know). i hate talking in front of people. but sit me down with a student and something hands-on to do, and i think i'm a pretty good teacher. this is the kind of thing i think about when i worry about what the hell i'm going to do with an MFA in poetry writing. :)

Profile

supercheesegirl: (Default)
supercheesegirl

September 2018

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 01:44 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios